As part of processes towards the preparation of the 2022-2025 Medium Term Development Plan, the Ga South Municipal Assembly organized a stakeholders meeting on Monday, October 11, 2021, for the constituents in the Gedan-Tuba, Bortianor, Kokrobite and Akwasa electoral areas at the Bortianor Church of Pentecost to identify their critical needs and aspirations for the next four year (2022-2025) implementation cycle as required by National Development Planning System Regulations, 2016 (L.I. 2232).

Participants included representatives from the four electoral areas namely; Traders Association, Persons with Disability, Farmer Based Associations, Hair Dressers and Beauticians, Seamstress and Tailors Associations, Landlords and Residents Associations, Private Business Sector, GPRTU-TUC, Artisans and Craftsmanship, Garages and many other stake holders.

The Municipal Chief Executive, Hon. Joseph Nyarni Stephen, in his statement commended the role that stakeholders have played since the inception of the Assembly which has positioned the Assembly in providing effective and efficient service delivery in the Municipality. He indicated that some significant progress has been made in the implementation of programmes and projects of the 2018-2021 (MTDP) in area of Agriculture, Water and sanitation management, Health infrastructure, Educational facilities, Social Intervention programmes, Roads, and security. He indicated that part of the process in preparing the 2022-2025 Medium Term Development Plan requires the Assembly to organize such programmes to seek for their critical needs for consideration and implementation. He also urged the stakeholders to seize the opportunity to prioritize the most basic pressing needs in their various communities.

In an opening statement by the chief of Tuba Nene-Tetteh Ibrahim A. III on behalf of the chiefs commended the Hon. Municipal Chief Executive for organizing such important program. According to him such practice deepens decentralization process, grassroot decision making and a sense of ownership. He added that the Assembly has been noted for providing sustainable, equitable, dignified, and holistic development for the residents in the municipality since its inception. He however appealed for consideration of their inputs into the plan.

Overview of 2018-2021 Medium Term Development Plan
The Municipal Planning Officer, Mr. Francis Abofra underscored programmes and projects implemented over the four years. Among few are; Supporting of One Hundred and Eighty-One (181) Person with Disability and Disbursement of LEAP Cycle Payment to two thousand and twenty-three (2,023) beneficiary households in the Municipality, Rehabilitation and Upgrading of roads in New Bortianor (4.5km), Galilea (2.3km), Kokrobite-Tsokome (1km), Completed two (2) Storey 6 unit Classroom Block At Amanfro, Supply of 1,800 Mono and 850 dual desk to schools in the Municipality, Completed Phase I Female Ward at Ngleshie Amanfro Polyclinic, On-Going CHPS Compound at Fankyeneko, Completed Ultra-Modern Assembly Office Complex at Amanfro, Procurement of Two (2) Toyota Hilux for Revenue Mobilization, Evacuation of heap of refuse at Old Aplaku.

According to him revenue inflows among others hindered the full implementation of the 2018-2021 (MTDP). Key among them are; Inadequate and Untimely release of funds from Central Government, Inadequate Internally Generated Funds (IGF), Inadequate Logistics for Operations and Outbreak of Covid-19 Pandemic

Discussion and Presentation of Community Needs
The stakeholders were guided on prioritization of their community needs. The prioritized needs of the stakeholders included extension of electricity and water supply to various communities, drainage system, provision of educational facilities, markets, roads and health infrastructure The meeting was successful as it provided the platform for effective deliberation, recommendations and clarifications. Also in attendance were officials of the Municipal Assembly included the Municipal Chief Executive, the Municipal Coordinating Director, various Heads of Departments/Units, Hon. Assembly and Unit Committee Members, Traditional Leaders, Opinion leaders and Religious Leaders.